Print 

Author Topic: 80 mm case cooling fans?  (Read 1336 times)

Offline ToMaHaWk

• Regular Poster
  • Knowledge speaks, but wisdom listens.
80 mm case cooling fans?
« on: July 08, 2008, 07:29:51 AM »
For as long as I can remember I've had a noisy case fan. I finally got around to replacing it last night with a newer, quieter one. However, when I went back and replaced it, it dawned on me that I have an extra slot right below it where I can mount another fan.

Now, I'm a straight-up beginner when it comes to computer building. I put together my computer by myself; however, I took it to a local computer shop to make sure I put everything in the right place. All I know how to do is put the pieces of the puzzle where they match up. Unfortunately, I don't really understand the compatibility between each component.

With that said, I was wondering if I should buy another 80 mm fan and install it in the spot just below my new and current fan. If you guys do recommend me to buy another fan, should I have it aligned same as the one above it? Meaning, should I have both drawing air in or both pushing air out or should I have one drawing air in and the other pushing the air out? (I'm thinking it's the latter of all the choices)

As usual, I love learning about new things and sometimes I learn them on my own. However, I may make incorrect assumptions about what I've read so...I may be entirely wrong... :sad: So, any help and knowledge would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks guys!

Offline BFM_Octane

• BFM Admin
Re: 80 mm case cooling fans?
« Reply #1 on: July 08, 2008, 08:11:37 AM »
Would it help though? Check your current temperatures n stuff like that. I doubt it matters that much if you get one any way. The only small ("noobed") worry i might have is matching intake amount with outtake and whether having too much extraction would cause any strain on the intake fans. But then theres so many holes and gaps in a case its again probably no biggy.