Print 

Author Topic: school/work quotes  (Read 19972 times)

Offline BFM_JANE

• Major
  • Despite the cost of living, it remains popular.
Re: school/work quotes
« Reply #30 on: September 18, 2009, 02:23:45 AM »
Yay @ Toe Tag, fun story!

But not nearly as good as mine:

(I work in tech support for ADT, a home/business security company. This guy called in because he wasn't able to arm his alarm system and needed to bypass a zone so that he could arm everything else.)

Me: To bypass zone nine, enter your four digit code and six-zero-nine.
Guy: Okay, so my four digit code and pound?
Me: ...No. Enter your code and six-zero-nine.

Listen to me! I just said it! That transaction took two seconds, not enough time to forget what I'd just said. It's a wonder these people are allowed to walk around outside.

Oh lol, and another guy trying to remember his password "atlantis" ( we can give no hints, except how many letters are in it ):

Guy: Alexis
Me: I don't have that as your password.
Guy: No, it's not Alexis... It's... Alexis. Alexis. It's a missing world, it's lost...
Me: Okay (that's a "verbal nod" and is required per Quality Assurance, my bonus depends on it ::))
Guy: Not Alexis, it's...
Me: It has eight letters in it.
Guy: Eight letters... Andromeda? No, not Andromeda... What is it? Not Alexis...
Me: Eight letters...
Guy: It's mythical... Mythical... Mythical... My brother's gonna be so mad... Andromeda... Andromeda, Alexis...
Me: Not Andromeda.
Guy: Not Andromeda. It's mythical.. It's lost... Andromeda... Andromeda...
Me: No.
Guy: (long pause) Man, it's not Alexis...
Me: Mmm.
Guy: It's Atlantis.
Me: Thank you.

He was so slurry and talking so slow, I was cracking up. Thank you mute button. And he was already mad at me for "carrying on" when his cell phone was dying. Every time I started to tell him to do something, he would interrupt me and say "that's right" sarcastically and I'd have to start over.

Me: To change your code─
Guy: That's riiiight.