Print 

Author Topic: Is Music Really just Maths?  (Read 8724 times)

Offline Volley

• Posts Too Much
  • You Just Got Served...
Re: Is Music Really just Maths?
« Reply #60 on: November 23, 2009, 09:41:17 PM »
As a musician, I know music is based in math.  There are different scales for Western music (I'm talking geographically.  Europe, The Americas), Indian, Asian, etc.  

Indian music is based on a 24 note scale where western music is based on a 12 note scale.  That's why Indian music sounds so odd.

Octaves always double in frequency.  An A on a guitar (open 5th string) is 440 Hz.  The next octave up is 880Hz and so one.

Time signatures are math: 4/4, 3/4, 6/8, 5/4, 7/4 and so on.  You subdivide the beats: whole, half, 1/4, 1/8, 1/16, 1/32, 1/64 and so on.  Tempo is based on beats per minute, bpm.  

Math is all over the place in music.  Now, that doesn't mean I always balance my check book!!!

Redsun

I'll agree with that. Though when I think of music, I don't think of the sounds it makes. I don't think of the waves, the frequencies, or the pitches. I think of when I read music.
How do we name notes? By whole, half, quarters, eighths, sixteenths, and so on. It's like every measure is a PIE!! And every note is a piece of that pie.

BUT when combining music, you have things like hemiola..playing triplets and duplets. One person can eat three pieces of a pie in the same time another person can eat 2 pieces of a pie!!

Musicall measures, when being composed, have to equal one big pie. It's all just fractions. 1/2 + 1/4 + 1/8 + 1/16 + 1/32 + 1/8 + 1/64 + 1/64 = 1 pie/measure. These pies are even divided into different sizes, like red sun said (4/4, 2/2, 3/4, and so on...). Like good musicians do, they count how many beats they have to play as their conductor only conducts in 2 or 3 or 4, or 5 or 6 or 7 or 8....! :)

Every conductor tells their students...SUBDIVIDE!

It's all math!!! Dotted half note with one eighth note and 2 sixteenths = 1 measure in 4/4!!

;D ;D