Print 

Author Topic: TUTORIAL: Email Address Safety  (Read 3018 times)

Offline BFM_Chaindog

• BFM Admin
  • F☼rum M☼derator
    • Hades Star:  Stargate Corp
TUTORIAL: Email Address Safety
« on: August 06, 2007, 11:15:05 AM »
Below is a copy of an email I created to send to a friend who had forwarded me an email that included the private email addresses of others that he had also sent the email to.  My response addresses email security and the safety of private information that you don't want shared with others.  ~BFM_Chaindog~
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Howdy Scott!

The both of us are big on security and information privacy, so I have some tech knowledge to pass on to you for your own usage.  The following is how to hide the private email addresses of the people you send email to, so that when you send email to multiple contacts it does not show that information to everyone on that list that you've sent an email to.  Also as a safety fall-back, it can be used to ensure that emails sent from you are actually from you and not a spambot or spybug on whatever computer you are using to login from while overseas (or anywhere) that can read your address book.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

***   For efficiency, prior to starting an email to send, click on your Addresses and enter your own full email address, with the Nickname field entered as "me" (without the quotes or uppercase lettering). Save and exit, you don't require additional information on yourself, just the name fields with your name on it.  This will be explained later.  ***

1.)   When using Yahoo, Hotmail, or other online email provider to send emails, you have (depending on your layout) several contact options to choose from.  When you are in the section to actually start an email to someone (or reply to one), it asks you near the top to enter an email address in the "To:" field.  Instead of entering or clicking on the "To:" to select contacts, enter your nickname "me" (without the quotes or capitals).