Print 

Author Topic: memory type  (Read 10833 times)

Offline carl

• Senior Poster
  • check out mista benny!!!
memory type
« on: December 23, 2008, 05:11:43 PM »
hey
if i get RAM that is DDR2 will a graphics card with GDDR3 work on the same motherboard.  for example, i have a motherboard that had 8gigs of DDR2 RAM and i want to put a graphics card with GDDR3. or does it not matter, or does the GDDR3 have nothing to do with the RAM, or do i need GDDR3 RAM to work with the card.  all i know is there is DDR2 RAM and GDDR3 RAM so i don't know.  thanks for any help. 
if you ask me to slow down when racing, then you are out of luck buddy. I AM AN AGGRESSIVE DRIVER!!! 
the fastest way to a point is a straight line, no matter the danger, i like to take chances, I AM A RISKY DRIVER!!!

Ok, let's get right to it.  DO NOT HIT YOUR COMPUTER AS CARL DOES

Offline Ediseye

• Posts Too Much
  • And t3h shark eatz itz
Re: memory type
« Reply #1 on: December 23, 2008, 05:20:51 PM »
RAM that is associated with the motherboard has nothing to do with RAM that is on the graphics card. Video cards can have even GDDR5, which can be found on ATI cards, and NVIDIA cards, at the current moment, just go up to GDDR3.

So to answer your question, yes, a graphics card with GDDR3 will work if you have DDR2.

The main thing you need to worry about is if you have a AGP or PCI-E slot, which as far as I know, you have a PCI-E slot. The next thing that brings questioning is if you have enough power to run the card. This is determined by how much your system uses, WITH the graphics card, and how much total watts your power supply can supply. Though running a power supply at 100% load all the time isn't a good idea.

Offline carl

• Senior Poster
« Reply #2 on: December 23, 2008, 05:46:14 PM »